Even considering the morning rain at the TH-3 "track", the Hawaii Region of the Sports Car Club of America put on another good autocross event on Sunday April 18th. When the drivers and spectators arrived in the morning everyone thought it would be another rain out like the January and March autocrosses. But after some initial showers, the sun peeked out and dried the track. The first cars were off at about 11 a.m. The "track" was about a mile or

so in length with an initial series of tight gates and slaloms and at the end a long straight. The times, however, were considerably slower than the February running. Before the noon break about 15 cars went through the course. At noon break, trophies were awarded for the February event, and then the 1981 Championship prizes were presented. Both Automotive Engineering and Sportmotive donated gift certificates and merchandise for the 1981 series. After the break, the remaining 25 cars then finished off the event.

Finishing first in A stock and having the 2nd fastest time of the day was Pat Torres (Porsche 911). Slipping into second place was SUCAs favorite Pete Wimberly in his Lotus. Rounding out the A stock group was Jim Moo, Allen Hanner and Pat Lawrence, all driving Porsche 911s. Ed Kemper, driving a Pantera, finished first in A prepared (3rd overall) and beat back 2 Mazda RX-7s driven by Michael Renfro and Carl Kauhini.

Curtis Lee, driving a C stock Datsur 240z, Finished an astounding 4th overall and first in his class. John Tani (24CZ) and Paul Hogan (RX-7) finished second and third respectively. Leon Seto (Jhevy Monza) was the sole participant in the C prepared class.

D stock had 4 entries, three Triumphs and a Datsun. John Strum (TR6) headed the group, followed by Worman Brown (280Z), tom Goughlin (GT6) and Mark Ratcliffe (TR6). D prepared had the most drivers of any class (six) and also the compitition was very tight. Keith Yamanaki (Scirocco) aced out Don Simpson (Datsun 200SX) by 2 tenths of a second, even though keith had 4 penalty seconds added to his time. The Toyotas driven by Cory Asato, Phillip Brownell and Andy Chan finished 3,4, and 5. Novice Ross Wong in his Mazda RX-2 was sixth. Jaije Wong (Toyota) was first place finisher in D modified over Raleigh Furden in his Fiat X1/9.

E stock was a competitive class with 5 drivers. Gerald Atkins (Spitfire) took first place over Jerry Disney (Spitfire) by 2 seconds. Stephen Oertwig (TR3) Steve Sims (X1/9) and Kevin Kinyon (Datsun 1600) finished off that class. E prepared had only one driver- Derek Baba (VW) E modified class had two fast ones, Scott Schulte had the fastest time of the day in his Porsche 911. Paul Demare had his water injection system go haywire in his turbo RX7 but he finished 2nd in Em and 12th overall. It's a little hard to go fast when you are running on steam.

Newcomer Raliert Iriye pulled first place in G stock in a brand new Honda Accord. The VWs of Chip Andrews, Ron Henning and Byron Hansen filled the next 3 slots and Mauian Ed Britton drove his Toyota Tercel automatic to 5th place. Another newcomer, Mark Honaker, pulled out his spare tire on his Datsun 210 so he could drive in Hs.

In the ladies classes Vanice Brauner in F stock ladies narrowly defeated Terri Strehl in her Dsl MGB (3 tenths of a second).

The next Solo II event is July 11. The Solo II Driver's School is June 13.

ED KEMPER

## SOLO I

The next Solo I event has been tentatively scheduled for July. Further developments concerning Solo I will be announced at the June membership meeting.